Dr. E. Lendell Cockrum

Dr. E. Lendell Cockrum

1920-2009

I owe my PhD degree to Dr. E. Lendell Cockrum and thus I can never say thank you enough, Dr. Cockrum. I am so grateful. And I am happy that I did say that to you on few occasions. I was a student in Robert Baker’s lab at Texas Tech University. Bob suggested that I finish up the work that Dr. Cockrum started on the systematics of Mammals of Tunisia for my dissertation project. Dr. Cockrum has already retired but was gracious enough to receive me in his home, donate a huge collection of mammalian specimens and his library which contained a large number of rare books and papers. He gave me a library reference listing on an old software and explained to me how to open it with DOS! And as I started getting familiar with Tunisian mammals, I had to call him and e-mail him and on one occasion drive over to Tucson to meet him and seek his advice. Even though Dr. Cockrum had already retired and could have easily referred me to the published literature and my Texas Tech mentors, he was generous enough to listen to my questions, advise me and subsequently correct hundreds of pages of material from my dissertation. Material that he had dealt with ad nausea in the mid 1970s and I am sure a task that was tiring, if not boring, for him. I managed to put together my dissertation thanks to him and as a member of my PhD committee, he came to my defense of dissertation mid August 1997 with his wife Irma. They had both driven the distance from Tucson to Lubbock in their car. My committee included Cockrum who was Baker’s PhD supervisor, Robert Bradley who was Baker’s former PhD student. That day, Cockrum lead the dissertation exam of a third generation of mammalogists. Dr. Cockrum: You will be greatly missed and once more, I am so grateful.

Burhan Gharaibeh, PhD

Stem Cell Research Center

The University of Pittsburgh

For more on Dr. E Lendell Cockrum, please see this information:

From Tucson.com:

E. Lendell Cockrum

COCKRUM, E. Lendell, passed away on November 22, 2009, in Sedona, Arizona. Known as Dr. Cockrum to his many students at the University of Arizona, where he taught zoology courses and studied mammals for more than 30 years. He specialized in the study of bats and was a world renowned expert on bat population dynamics and bat migration. Dr. Cockrum was born on May 29, 1920 in Sesser, Illinois. He served in the U.S. Navy during World War II. After receiving his Ph.D. from the University of Kansas he moved to Arizona in 1950. He was married to Irma Pauline Cockrum for 63 years, who preceded him in death. He is survived by his two sons, David (Sally) of Alpine, Texas and Ward (Maggie) of Sedona, Arizona. He had four grandchildren, Dana Kasling (Kemp) of Austin, Texas, Chris Cockrum of Round Rock, Texas, Andrew and Ana-Alicia Cockrum of Sedona, Arizona; two great- grandchildren, Graydon and Anderson Kasling of Austin, Texas, and his sister, Sarah Kay Hatcher of Tucson. He had great joy in his life for his wife, his family and his career. In lieu of flowers, the family suggests donations be made to your favorite charity in Lendell’s name. Visitation at ABBEY FUNERAL CHAPEL, Friday, November 27, 2009, 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Funeral Service to follow at 2:00 p.m. Arrangements by ABBEY FUNERAL CHAPEL, 3435 N. 1st Ave., Tucson, Arizona.

Leave a Reply

